Section Heading

Scam Alert Scam Alert                  

Section Heading


Section Heading

Section Heading

19 More Airports Nationwide Installed With Latest Safety Equipments

Installation of the latest thermal scanners and additional sneeze guards at 19 airports to keep airports safe

SEPANG – Malaysia Airports continues its efforts in keeping airport guests safe from the spread of COVID-19 by installing the latest thermal scanners and additional sneeze guards at 19 more airports nationwide. Visitors to the airports can be rest assured that they will have a safe airport experience as the airport operator continually implements various contactless and physical distancing solutions at critical checkpoints throughout the terminals.

According to the group chief executive officer (CEO) of Malaysia Airports, Dato’ Mohd Shukrie Mohd Salleh, “Since the onset of the pandemic, we have not stopped exploring means and ways to help mitigate the risks of COVID-19. We consider this as part and parcel of our obligation to help keep our country safe. We have been working very closely with the Ministry of Transport (MOT), Ministry of Health (MOH) and other related agencies, mainly through the joint committee at KL International Airport (IATA Code: KUL) - the KUL COVID Committee. We pilot the latest technology solutions at KUL first before rolling them out at other airports because KUL serves the majority of our passengers.”

A total of 23 new thermal scanners and 600 units of sneeze guards will be installed at all 19 airports. 12 airports besides KUL have completed the installations. They are Penang International Airport (IATA Code: PEN), Langkawi International Airport (IATA Code: LGK), Kuching International Airport (IATA Code: KCH), Kota Kinabalu International Airport (IATA Code: BKI), Subang Airport (IATA Code: SZB), Terengganu Airport (IATA Code: TGG), Tawau Airport (IATA Code: TWU), Labuan Airport (IATA Code: LBU), Alor Setar Airport (IATA Code: AOR) Sandakan Airport (IATA Code: SDK), Kota Bharu Airport (IATA Code: KBR) and Miri Airport (IATA Code: MYY).

7 airports that are currently undergoing installations are Ipoh Airport (IATA Code: IPH), Kuantan Airport (IATA Code: KUA); Melaka Airport (IATA Code: MKZ); Bintulu Airport (IATA Code: BTU); Limbang Airport (IATA Code: LMN); Sibu Airport (IATA Code: SBW) and Lahad Datu Airport (IATA Code: LDU). These installations are scheduled to be completed by end October 2020.

Dato’ Mohd Shukrie added that Malaysia Airports remains vested in maintaining the highest levels of safety without compromising on service levels as befitting KUL’s reputation as one of the world's best airports, “It is crucial that while we cater to the new normal in air travel, we continue to provide seamless airport experiences to our passengers.”


You might also like:

Licence to Win: Iconic Airport Shopping Campaign Returns!

SEPANG - Sebuah pusat dialisis bakal diwujudkan di Masjid Sultan Abdul Samad KLIA (Masjid…

SEPANG - Intensive efforts by the Malaysia Airports Group to expand the country's network…

SEPANG - The much-anticipated Aerotrain Replacement Project at KL International Airport […

Section Heading