HOW TO PREVENT IT!

Prevention and control relies on reducing the breeding of *Aedes* mosquitoes and minimizing contact between mosquito vectors and people.





COMMUNICABLE DISEASE DIVISION MINISTRY OF HEALTH MALAYSIA

ZIKA VIRUS

Zika is a virus transmitted by the *Aedes aegypti*, the same mosquito that transmits dengue, yellow fever and chikungunya

SYMPTOMS:

- ✓ Mild fever
- ✓ Skin rash
- ✓ Muscle / joint paint
- ✓ Malaise
- √ Headache
- ✓ Conjunctivitis (red eye)



WHAT TO DO IF SYMPTOMS APPEAR?

- Treatment consists of relieving pain and fever and any other symptoms that bother the patient
- > Take plenty of fluids
- > Sleep under the mosquito net
- Wear clothes that cover your arm and legs

If the symptoms develop especially in a pregnant lady, seek medical attention immediately as your pregnancy could be at risk.

- Onset is generally two to seven days after being bitten by Aedes Aegypti mosquito
- One in four people infected with Zika develop symptoms
- A very small proportion of people may suffer complication after contracting the virus

PREVENTION:

- 1. Eliminate breeding sites: flower pots, old tires, bottles and any other containers that mosquito can bread.
- Use insecticide-treated mosquito screens or curtains to cover windows and doors.
 Sleep in a place protected by mosquito nets.
- 3. Cover all household water tanks and containers to ensure that mosquitoes cannot get into them.
- 4. Wear long-sleeves long trousers and hats.
- Prevent accumulation of rubbish, disposing of it in sealed plastic bags and covered bins.
- 6. Use insect repellents recommended by the health authorities.
- 7. Keep drains clear to prevent stagnant water from accumulating.
- 8. Avoid doing outdoor activities during peak biting times of *Aedes* mosquitoes, a few hours after dawn and before dusk.

LIST OF COUNTRIES AFFECTED BY ZIKA VIRUS:

- 1. Barbados
- 2. Bolivia
- 3. Brazil
- 4. Colombia
- 5. Dominican Republic
- 6. Ecuador
- 7. El Salvador
- 8. French Guiana
- 9. Guadeloupe
- 10. Guatemala
- 11. Guyana
- 12. Honduras
- 13. Martinique
- 14. Mexico
- 15. Panama
- 16. Paraguay
- 17. Puerto Rico
- 18. Saint Martin
- 19. Suriname
- 20. US Virgin Islands
- 21. Venezuela
- 22. Haiti
- 23. Nicaragua
- 24. Samoa
- 25. Costa Rica
- 26. Jamaica